An Article By A Random Teenager

By: Tim D. Howard

In The Beginning:

Coming into the Sons of Ransom supporter group I had no idea what to expect. Were they going to be rowdy, cursing, rude and crude supporters like some or a more mild, and respectful supporter group like my family in Chattanooga, TN, the Chattahooligans. Luckily, it was the latter. Actually it took the things that I liked about NGS and the things I like about the ‘hooligans and kinda MASHED them together.

No one knew who we (my father and I) were when we showed up at the first game, but we brought two drums and an arsenal of chants from having done this for a few years before. On the way home from the first game my dad said to me, “Dude,” he thinks that makes him sound younger, “We created history tonight.” Another lady rolled down her window and said “Thanks for making the game fun!” While I knew that what they both said were true I tried to remember what my unintentional namesake, Tim Howard, would have said “Stay humble.”

The first game was frickin’ awesome and even though we were like 15-20 strong at the time I knew we could grow bigger.

The Mad Median:

Although, due to timing and other factors, the old man and I couldn’t make it to quite a few of the games, I did what the blog said and supported from afar. Every goal Lansing scored, every game they played I was on twitter getting updates from them. Then we got to the AFC Cleveland Royals game. That was fun! No one likes Oh*o so everyone was on the same page with that. I introduced the new chant “LANSING FANS!” *Loud cheers from SoR* “Cleveland Fans!” *Nada*. That was the same game that someone from our church was at the game and when we went to church the next day the kid was like “You’re part of Sons of Ransom?” and it was pretty cool to say “YES SIR!” Lansing tied Cleveland 2-2.

Then we went to the Indiana Fire game. My really good friend plays soccer and she knew I was a soccer supporter but she didn’t know what that meant. She also had never been to a pro or semi-pro soccer game. So, my mission, create a new member of Sons of Ransom. I texted her and asked her if she wanted to go. Luckily she said yes! This feeling was probably the best feeling I had all season! My best friend and I got to share the awesomeness of being a soccer supporter. We beat Indiana 2-1. On the way home I asked her if this is something she would like to see at our school’s soccer games, she said yes.

When we dropped her off with her dad she promptly had some headache medicine. AKA: Mission Accomplished!

The Final Game Against Detroit:

I didn’t think I would get to go. I was so upset! I felt like I was letting my team down! But through the kindness of my parents they made it a reality for me to get to DeMartin Stadium. That game was special because not only did we get a chance to face a rival we also got a chance to play on a really awesome field! The grass is good at ELSC but it’s excellent at DeMartin. The seating at DeMartin was grand but we could have smoke at ELSC. The other reason it was a huge game was because it was “Almost more Supporter Group v. Supporter Group.” as Eric put it.

In my opinion we won. They may have had more numbers and they screamed more profanities at us at pre-game but we accomplished our goal of being a SG that the people of Lansing enjoyed being around. Along with that goal was having a SG that parents wouldn’t mind letting their kids run off into our section and not have them worrying about them picking up new vocabulary.

We got the tie even though we wanted the win. We did BEAT CITY even though NGS said we didn’t, we got more points over the season and finished number one. We won.

United We Stand:

This was expressed by the Sons of Ransom when I said I wasn’t going to be able to go to the playoff games. They reached out and made it a reality, yet again, for me, just a random teenage guy. So, they made it a reality for me to get to the games. At this point in the article I want to say how awesome my mom and dad are. They knew that soccer means a lot to me and did more than they needed to do to get me to the games. I kept on telling my mom that what they were doing was so awesome. Anyway, I got to the game and I had a weekend pass. I watched Quad City and Fort Pitt and thought to myself…well out loud too, we could beat both of these guys.

Game two of the Midwest semi-finals was the game we had all been waiting for. Minnesota FC Reserves v. Lansing United. What came out of this game? An awesome experience and a spot in the Midwest Region championship match. We beat Minnesota 4-1. the “Rundland’s Army” chant was premiered here as well as “Lansing Boys We Are Here.”

Remember That Time That We Sang a Chant For 10 Minutes:

The Fort Pitt game. NPSL Midwest Region Championship.

Woooooah oh oh oh!

Woooooah oh oh oh!

Woooooah oh oh oh!

Woooooah oh oh oh!

HERE WE GO!

La la la la la la laaa!

La la la la la la laaa!

La la la la la la laaa!

La la la la la la laaa!

Yeah. We did that for ten minutes.

We scored our first goal in the first half and the Sons of Ransom struggled to not fall over dead from exhaustion and a sleepless night because of nerves. Luckily we learned that one chant before the game and it saved our butts! I remember Eric and I looked at each other and we gave each other that “Look at what we’re doing!” look. He gave me a high five and we continued to do what we do. We were at least 75 strong at our final home match. That is a pretty good size for a first year supporter group. We beat Fort Pitt 2-1 in overtime (extratime) but we didn’t gloat about it. We weren’t in their face about it. They played hard and they were determined like we were. They deserved it as much as we did but in the end we had more goals.

Post-Post Season:

I love what we accomplished as a supporter group and I can’t wait to bring it next year in Lansing 2k15. We will have two more clubs in Michigan (Ann Arbor and Grand Rapids), next year and we have already created a good reputation with them. We have gained their respect and we respect them. Other supporter groups in our conference can’t say that they have a teams that they really truly want to succeed. We did well guys! So happy with our first season! UNITED WE STAND!

 

Leave a Reply

